Whitney – Giving Up

Labels:Secretly Canadian
Number of Tracks:1
Total Time:00:03:10
From the Album:Giving Up
Formats:AAA,Non-Commercial,NPR
Available Date & Time: Jun 06 2019 05:00:00 EDT

Whitney Release Lead Single "Giving Up"

From The New Album Forever Turned Around!

Stream The New Song On Youtube Here

Full US Tour Announced – Dates Already Selling Out! 

Previous Supporters Include: 

Sirius XMU, KBOO, KCMP, KCSN, KDHX, KEXP, KJAC, KKXT, KRCL, KTBG, KUTX, KVOQ, WCBE, WCLZ, WDST, WEVL, WFPK, WFUV, WMNF, WMOT, WNCS, WRLT, WRSI, WTMD, WXPN, WXRT, WYEP, WYMS and Many More!

Last Album Light Upon the Lake Hit Over 124 MILLION Total Streams 

Whitney, the Chicago-based band led by vocalist/drummer Julien Ehrlich and guitarist Max Kakacek, will release their sophomore album, Forever Turned Around, on August 30th via Secretly Canadian. On the follow up to their much-beloved debut, 2016’s Light Upon the Lake, Ehrlich and Kakacek grapple with the anxiety and acceptance that time is limited and navigate questions of mortality, doubt, love, and friendship. It’s an album about partnership — romantic, familial and communal, but most importantly a love in friendship: the bonds between two best friends and creative partners and the joy and stress that comes with it. First played on SiriusXMU, lead single “Giving Up” is its triumphant opener – a heart-rending and relatable song about the ups and downs of long-term relationships.
 

Forever Turned Around was co-produced by Brad Cook (Bon Iver, Hand Habits) and Jonathan Rado (Weyes Blood, Father John Misty). It came together over several sessions, with its earliest material written while on tour, but truly revealed itself when they reunited with original rhythm guitarist Ziyad Asrar in his basement Chicago studio—the same place where they hashed out much of Light Upon The Lake. While recording, the band enlisted Chicago musicians Lia Kohl and OHMME’s Macie Stewart to provide strings, their lush swells colorfully accenting the arrangements throughout the record.
 

Whitney has long been a full-fledged live band with keyboardist Malcolm Brown, guitarist Print Chouteau, bassist Josiah Marshall, and trumpeter Will Miller, along with Asrar who’s returning to the fold on their upcoming tour. The band will appear at Chicago’s Pitchfork Music Festival in July before embarking on a lengthy European and North American tour, including two nights at Brooklyn Steel in New York City, The Wiltern in Los Angeles, and more. Tickets for all shows are on sale now.
 

Whitney Online:

       
Website http://www.whitneytheband.com/

 

 

Whitney Tour Dates:

Mon. Sept. 9 – Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird
Tue. Sept. 10 – St. Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall
Wed. Sept. 11 – Kansas City, MO @ The Truman
Thu. Sept. 12 – Dallas, TX @ Canton Hall
Fri. Sept. 13 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk – SOLD OUT
Sat. Sept. 14 – Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Sun. Sept. 15 – Houston, TX @ Satellite
Tue. Sept. 17 – New Orleans, LA @ Tipitina’s
Wed. Sept. 18 – Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Fri. Sept. 20 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Sat. Sept. 21 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat’s Cradle
Sun. Sept. 22 – Richmond, VA @ The National
Mon. Sept. 23 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Sept. 26 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sat. Sept. 28 – Accord, NY @ Woodsist Festival
Sun. Sept. 29 – Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Tue. Oct. 1 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Wed. Oct. 2 – Boston, MA @ Royale
Thu. Oct. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Oct. 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel – SOLD OUT
Thu. Oct. 17 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Fri. Oct. 18 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Sat. Oct. 19 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Mon. Oct. 21 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Wed. Oct. 23 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro
Thu. Oct. 24 – Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Fri. Oct. 25 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre
Sat. Oct. 26 – Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre
Sun. Oct. 27 – Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Wed. Oct. 30 – Chico, CA @ The Big Room at Sierra Nevada Brewery Fri. Nov. 1 – San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield Theatre
Sun. Nov. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
Sun. Nov. 3 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory San Diego

Mon. Nov. 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Yost Theater

Fri. Nov. 8 – Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves 

 

Label Contacts:

Bri Aab :: ***.***.**** :: ***@*************.***

Harlan Kelly :: ***.***.**** :: ******@*************.*** 

 

Don't have this release in your Play MPE® account? Clickhere to request it.
EMAIL ADDRESS OF YOUR PLAY MPE® ACCOUNT:
Please enter a valid email address.
To receive Play MPE Releases please add your account to a Play MPE® managed list or register for an account here.

Leave a Reply

powered by radioinfo.com
Sign Up for MPE Today