TORRES – Dressing America

Labels:Merge Records
Number of Tracks:1
Total Time:00:04:00
From the Album:Dressing America
Formats:
Available Date & Time: Jan 15 2020 10:00:00 EST

IMPACTING AAA + SPECIALTY 1/27

Spins for early singles from The Current, KEXP, KRCL, Music Choice, OPB Music, WBJB, WFUV, WXPN, WXRT, and more!

SILVER TONGUE IS OUT 1/31 ON MERGE + US TOUR DATES BELOW

WATCH THE VIDEO

IN ROLLING STONE + CONSEQUENCE OF SOUND MOST ANTICIPATED LISTS

TORRES, the project of New York-based musician Mackenzie Scott, presents “Dressing America,” a final pre-release single and first video for Silver Tongue, out January 31st on Merge Records. In conjunction, she expands her North American tour, which runs from late March through May.

Following previously released singles “Gracious Day” and “Good Scare,” “Dressing America” combines New Wave glitter with hovering frustration. Scott’s striking vocal hooks punctuate sparkling instrumentation as she sings “You think that I don’t know you don’t want to be alone? / Come on / You’re always telling me I don’t know who you are / Come on, woman / I tend to sleep with my boots on should I need to gallop over dark water / To you on short notice.” The accompanying video was directed by Ashley Connor and features Scott.

“An ode to every sacrificial act of love,” says Connor. “Starring our hero Cowboy Mackenzie, who will gladly carry any lover through the snow. A few friends made the video during the December squall.”

Silver Tongue is named after those whose words are so potent they cause the people and beings around them to vibrate. It’s a full-scale realization of the world Scott has created over TORRES’ last few albums, and the first TORRES record produced solely by Scott. Silver Tongue  chronicles the impulses that make up desire—from the dreamy first blushes of infatuation through the slightly terrifying wonder that accompanies connection with another.

TORRES’ music has long navigated the space between the physical and the metaphysical, and Silver Tongue faces that conflict head-on, examining the ways in which the actions of others can stir up deep-seated feelings and seemingly alter the space in which one exists.


TORRES US tour:
Fri. Jan. 31 – Brooklyn, NY @ The Sultan Room (record release show) – SOLD OUT
Sat. Feb. 29 – San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
Thu. March 26 – Sun. March 29 – Boise, ID @ Treefort Music Festival
Tue. March 31 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Wed. April 1 – Portland, OR @ Lola’s Room
Sat. April 4 – Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sun. April 5 – San Diego, CA @ House of Blues Voodoo Room
Mon. April 6 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Wed. April 8 – Dallas, TX @ Deep Ellum Art Co.
Thu. April 9 – Austin, TX @ 3Ten
Fri. April 10 – Houston, TX @ House of Blues (Bronze Peacock Room)
Sat. April 11 – New Orleans, LA @ Santos
Mon. April 13 – Nashville, TN @ Basement East
Tue. April 21 – Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern
Wed. April 22 – Pontiac, MI @ Pike Room at Crofoot
Sat. April 25 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sun. April 26 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Back Room at Colectivo
Mon. April 27 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Tue. April 28 – Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar
Wed. April 29 – East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt
Thu. April 30 – St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Fri. May 1 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups
Wed. May 13 – Toronto, ON @ Drake Underground
Thu. May 14 – Ithaca, NY @ The Haunt
Sun. May 17 – Fairfield, CT @ Stageone
Tue. May 19 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s
Thu. May 21 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Fri. May 22 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook
Sat. May 23 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl
Sun. May 24 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight
Thu. May 28 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom

 

CONTACT MERGE:

Cecile Duncan – ***.***.**** ext. 117 or ******@************.***

CONTACT CO-SIGN:

Christine Sanley – ***.***.**** or *********@**-****.***
Jessica Weber – ***.***.**** or *******@**-****.***

Don't have this release in your Play MPE® account? Clickhere to request it.
EMAIL ADDRESS OF YOUR PLAY MPE® ACCOUNT:
Please enter a valid email address.
To receive Play MPE Releases please add your account to a Play MPE® managed list or register for an account here.

Leave a Reply

powered by radioinfo.com